Right Before I Go

by Stan Zimmerman

Assistant to the Playwright

The Town Hall (2017)

A one-night-only benefit performance directed by Drama Desk and Outer Critics Circle award-winner Michael Wilson (The Trip to Bountiful, The Best Man) and starring the best and brightest of Hollywood and Broadway.

Right Before I Go brings to life the last words of those lost to suicide including the heartsick, bullied, survivors of war, mentally ill and the achingly lonely. This poignant, deeply moving, and often humorous evening aims to provide a sense of understanding and hope for the living. All proceeds from this event went to the American Federation for Suicide Prevention and The Jed Foundation.

Yoni Weiss, Hari Nef, and Howard Emanuel

Yoni Weiss, Hari Nef, and Howard Emanuel

Howard Emanuel, Vanessa Williams, Stan Zimmerman, and Yoni Weiss

Howard Emanuel, Vanessa Williams, Stan Zimmerman, and Yoni Weiss


Hosted by eleven-time Grammy, three-time Emmy, and Tony nominee Vanessa Williams. Featuring three-time Tony nominee Elizabeth AshleyWilson Bethel (“Hart of Dixie,” “How to Get Away with Murder,” The Last Match), Mark Blum (“Mozart in the Jungle”), Academy, Tony, and Emmy winner Ellen Burstyn, Jake Cannavale (Fish in the Dark), two-time Tony winner Michael CerverisCaitlin FitzGerald (“Masters of Sex”), Chris Gethard (“The Chris Gethard Show”), Jin Ha (“Jesus Christ Superstar LIVE! in Concert,” M. Butterfly, Hamilton), Susan Heyward (Harry Potter and the Cursed ChildThe Trip to Bountiful), Edward Hibbert (“Frasier”), NFL running back Rashad JenningsMaggie Lacey (Our Town), two-time Tony and Drama Desk winner Judith Light, Drama Desk nominee Jennifer LimHari Nef (“Transparent”), Maulik Pancholy (“30 Rock,” “Weeds,” “Phineas and Ferb”), Lenny Platt (“How to Get Away with Murder”), Tony winner Alice Ripley (Next to Normal), two-time Tony nominee and Drama Desk winner Lois Smith, Emmy nominee Amber Tamblyn, and Raviv Ullman (“Phil of the Future”).

Creative Team

By Stan Zimmerman
Directed by Michael Wilson
Associate Directed by Heather Arnson
Music Directed by Brad Haak